Karen W. offers Abstract Painting Lessons, Acoustic Guitar Lessons, Basi...

Tutor in Portland, OR 97206

Portland, OR 97206

NOT ENROLLING



Your message was sent

Price starts at: $25.00

Subjects: Abstract Painting, Acoustic Guitar, Algebra, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, American Government, American History, American Literature, Anatomy, Anatomy and Physiology, Anthropology, AP Biology, AP Calculus, AP Chemistry, AP English, AP English Literature, AP Physics, AP Statistics, AP U.S. History, Archaeology, Architecture, Arithmetic, Art History, Astronomy, Audition Prep, Basic Math, Bass Guitar, Biology, Blues Guitar, Botany, Calculus, Chemistry, Classical Guitar, Classical Piano, COBOL, Computer Programming, C Programming, DOS, Drum, Elementary Math, English, English Literature, GED Test Prep, Geography, Geometry, Guitar, History, Kazoo, Knitting, Marimba, Math, Meditation, Microsoft Access, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Office, Microsoft Windows, Music Performance, Origami, Percussion, Philosophy, Physical and Earth Sciences, Physics, Piano, Ping Pong, Pre Algebra, Pre Calculus, PSAT, Psychology, Public Speaking, Qigong, Reading, Reiki, SAT, Science, Sewing, Social Sciences, Social Studies, Sociology, Speech, Spelling, Statistics, Study Skills, Table Tennis, Test Prep, Trigonometry, Typing, Visual Basic, Vocabulary, Weight Loss, Xylophone, Yoga, Zoology

I have a BA in Psychology, and an MA in Parapsychology. I studied Architecture for 3 years, and Music Education for two years. I was a National Merit Semifinalist in High School for good SAT scores, and in the Honors Society in High School and College. I play piano, percussion, flute, cello, guitar, bass, cornet and glockenspiel, and teach music lessons. I enjoy playing duets with my students, sharing the fun of making music with them. I do macrame’, draw and paint, and am certified as a Reiki Master. I always loved school, and enjoy helping other people to learn. My Dad is my role model, since he was a calm, patient tutor for me – I try to live up to his example in my own teaching work.
I like to work with my students in a learning partnership, letting them work at their own pace with my encouragement and support.
I love to teach, and can help you love to learn!

  • Lesson Details *
    Lessons are usually 30 or 60 minutes, once a week.
    I can be flexible, if your needs differ.
    I can also arrange more evening times at 5:00 or later,
    if the times on my availability list don’t work for you.
  • Studio Equipment *
    Living room with
    Yamaha Clavinova CVP-65
    adjustable touch-sensitive electronic piano:
    Advanced Wave Memory tone generator with 53 voices,
    32-note polyphony, Dual and Split play modes,
    24 styles of orchestrated rhythm, bass,
    and chord accompaniments, 10-track performance memory, Disk Orchestra playback capability,
    MIDI compatibility and functions,

Fender Squier Bullet electric guitar
customized by Smooth Creations,
with a Line 6 amp,
a Keith Urban acoustic guitar,
an Epiphone Les Paul Special bass guitar,
a tone drum, and assorted percussion instruments,

SoundTech 4150 four-channel mixer,
with recording capability for all instruments
using ACID Music Studio,
and comfortable seating for parents.

  • Travel Equipment *
    Piano students should have a touch-sensitive piano/keyboard in their home.
    All other music students should either own or rent their instrument.
    Everyone should bring their assignment notebook and their lesson books to lessons.
  • Specialties *
    I play Rock, Blues, Jazz and Classical styles.
    The Faber method books are my favorite for piano,
    Hal Leonard for guitar.
    I have the most tutoring experience with Math and Statistics.

Child Ages:
3 weeks - 17 years
  • Levels and Ages
  • Types of Lessons Available
  • Course and Teaching Material
  • Activities and more...

EDUCATION

Date: September 15, 1983 – June 15, 1986
School: Humboldt State University
Degree: B. A.
Description: Psychology

Date: September 15, 1986 – June 15, 1988
School: John F. Kennedy University
Degree: M. A.
Description: Parapsychology

Date: September 15, 1973 – June 15, 1975
School: Michigan State University
Degree: no degree earned
Description: Music Education and Performance

Date: September 15, 1975 – June 15, 1978
School: University of Cincinnati
Degree: no degree earned
Description: Architecture
Work/Study Co-op program included doing drafting in one residential and one commercial Architecture firm.

EXPERIENCE

Date: June 15, 2012
Organization: NextGuru
Title: Music Teacher and Tutor
Description: I have worked as a Tutor for NextGuru where I’ve taught College Level Math and Statistics.

Date: February 15, 2012
Organization: Musicality Network
Title: Music Teacher
Description: I’ve been a traveling music teacher with Portland’s Musicality Network where I’ve had mainly piano students, and some guitarists.

Date: June 15, 2011 – July 15, 2011
Organization: Ethos Music Center
Title: Teaching Assistant
Description: Rock Band and Piano/Strings Summer Camps
Assisted three teachers in preparing eight groups of students for performances for friends and family.

CERTIFICATES

Date: June 15, 2011
Authority: Oregon WorkSource
Name: National Career Readiness Certification
Description: Platinum in Applied Mathematics and Reading for Information
Gold in Locating Information

AWARDS

Date: January 15, 2011
Authority: Pets Are Wonderful Support
Name: Heart and Soul Award
Description: award for outstanding volunteers
walked dogs for clients with HIV/AIDS,
ran Front Desk at weekly Pet Food Bank

Testimonials

This provider has chosen not to display their testimonials

Oh no! There are currently no testimonials.
Please check back later.

Loading local providers...